Farmers Market

broccoli, strawberries, spinach, peaches, olive bread, pluots, & green beans

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend, is to visit the farmers market. Every farmer’s market I visit is different, and each week the selection changes based on what is in season, but I have never met a farmer’s market I don’t like.

The farmers market in my old town was small, but it always had the staples.There were a few produce stands, a bakery stand, and then the pasta stand. There were so many varieties and lots of gluten free options, it was so fun to walk around and look at all the different flavors and types. You definitely wouldn’t be able to find pasta like their’s in any grocery store.

The farmers market here in downtown Walla Walla is even better than the one back home. Around Walla Walla, there is a lot of agriculture, so the produce here is really good and its easy to find produce in season. I love to get fresh fruit… plums, peaches, strawberries, and apples have been my favorite. The baking company here in town usually has a stand, and their artisan olive bread is a staple. I’m usually deprived of good bread all week, so this loaf gets consumed pretty fast! But by far, my favorite part about this market is the juice stand. They have the most amazing fresh juices that are made with locally grown produce. They will even put it in my mason jars if I ask, which makes my entire trip to the farmers market waste free!

green juice(kale, apple, ginger), sunshine juice (lemon, turmeric, apple), olive bread, pluots, and the last of the peaches for the season

There are a few things to remember when shopping at a farmers market:

  1. Always bring cash, most farmers only accept cash. (Also you don’t get a receipt, which cuts down on waste.)
  2. Bring your reusable bags! I always bring cotton drawstring bags and a few canvas totes.
  3. Plan ahead. If you known your farmers market sells fresh juice or cheese, bring a reusable container.
img_c8161cac4cba-1
strawberries, pink lady apples, handmade soap, plums, and an unpictured handmade wool headband

This weekend was the last Walla Walla Farmers Market for the year. I’m sad to see the season end, but I am looking forward to when it will reopen in the spring. Let me know if you have a farmers market near you and if yours is open all year round?

2 thoughts on “Farmers Market

  1. Askan November 1, 2016 / 12:04 pm

    Nice story. Great to see somebody “travelling” from market to market. How far away from each other are they?

    Like

    • otterlybeautiful November 1, 2016 / 8:56 pm

      I don’t necessarily “travel” from market to market, but instead I make a habit of finding a farmers market wherever I go. So for the most part they are around Washington. The two markets that I talked about in this post are about 5hrs away from each other.

      Like

Leave a Reply

