The World’s Best Oatmeal

img_3e505b79faa7-1

I’ve always been a fan of oatmeal, but college has made me obsessed with it. I think a lot of people don’t like oatmeal because they think of it as plain boring mush. At least that is how my boyfriend thought of it before I introduced him to the way I made oatmeal. It is so good that there have been days when I have had it for two meals. It is simple, healthy, and pretty cheap…the perfect college student meal!

I calculated it out and for me its averages out to $2.50 for a bowl of oatmeal. Not too bad for a quick and healthy meal!

img_e8aaa42a3a80-1

Frozen berries are cheaper and easier to store than fresh and they taste just as great as fresh. I almost like them a better than fresh!

You can leave out the maple syrup or switch the peanut butter out for another type of almond butter, but it won’t be the same. I often tell people that with the berries, peanut butter, and maple syrup that it tastes just like pancakes for me. Except when I am done eating it, I don’t feel loaded with sugar, and I certainly don’t get hungry later.

  • 1/4 quick oats
  • 1/4 oat bran
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup berries (frozen or fresh)

Mix the first four ingredients together and microwave for 2 minutes. Stir in the maple syrup, then top with peanut butter and berries. And enjoy!

Let me know if you like oatmeal and what your favorite toppings are.

One thought on “The World’s Best Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

