Weekly Grocery Haul 1//17

img_bee0b9f30f99-1
local frozen berries, oat bran, flaxseed meal, kale, pink lady apples, peanut butter, lemons, avocado, onion, turmeric, sauerkraut, carrots, ginger, & oranges.

Each week I make a trip off campus to the local health food store to get food that supplements my meal plan that I am required to have here at my university. The meal plan includes 8 meals each week and some money to spend for food on campus. Usually I use that money to buy kombucha and use my meal plan to get things like salad and more fruit.

img_789411bbd744-1
oranges, avocados, limes, ginger, bananas, apples, tempeh, almond milk, & peanut butter

Now that I am in my second quarter of college, my grocery hauls are starting to get pretty consistent. Each week I like to keep quick healthy food on hand to make it easier to eat nutritious food when I am busy. Here are some of my standbys week to week…

  • oranges
  • apples
  • avocados
  • ginger
  • sauerkraut
  • lemons
  • frozen berries
  • bananas
  • peanut butter

 

I eat a lot of breakfast type foods, things like smoothies, oatmeal, and muesli. Generally I eat one of those things for breakfast and lunch. Most days its a kale smoothie for breakfast and oatmeal for lunch. I’ve found that eating this way allows me to still eat healthy but not have to take a lot of time cooking meals.

Eventually when I have a kitchen to cook in I would like to eat more vegetables and protein, but this is where I am currently at right now.

This is what I live off of day to day, meal to meal… but I still have bad days where I want comfort food. For me that is pasta, now if I was at home I would make a creamy cashew and vegetable pasta dish. But college makes that a bit harder to achieve, so my not so guilty pleasure is vegan mac and cheese that I make in the microwave. (You would be surprised what you can cook in a microwave in the dorm…) It isn’t zero waste and it isn’t healthy, but right now I am okay with that. Next quarter when I have a kitchen to cook in, I have a feeling that it will become a rare occurrence.  And occasionally I still buy things like crackers or vegan chocolate chips. I am no where near perfect when it comes to eating healthy or living zero waste, but I think that each day I get a little better and that is what matters most.

If anything, I want people to know that you don’t become healthy or zero waste overnight. It is a process that could take you months or even years, and that is perfectly okay. I share things on this blog because I want to show people my process and I think that it will be cool to look back and see the progress that I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

