January Reads

This month I finished two really great books; All the Light We Cannot See and Euphoria. All the Light We Cannot See came to me highly recommended and it turned out to be one of those books where when you start reading it you just can’t stop! It is set during World War II and follows the story of a blind girl and an orphan and their lives throughout the war. Heart wrenching and captivating, would recommend to anyone looking for a good book. (Note: It is not historically factual…)

Euphoria was almost equally as good, but a little more heavy. It’s about three anthropologists and their adventures in New Guinea. Here is a description I found that sums it up much better than I could have…

“English anthropologist Andrew Bankson has been alone in the field for several years, studying the Kiona river tribe in the Territory of New Guinea. Haunted by the memory of his brothers’ deaths and increasingly frustrated and isolated by his research, he is on the verge of suicide when an encounter with colleagues, the controversial Nell Stone and her wry, mercurial husband Fen, pulls him back from the brink.”

One of my new years resolutions was to read more, I made a particular goal to read at least one book a month . That doesn’t seem like a lot, but I wanted to give myself an attainable goal to accomplish each month, despite if my life gets busy. Having said that, I think that I am off to a safe start on my goal. 1 month down, 11 more to go!

Let me know what books you read this month and if you have any recommendation for me on books to read next month.

 

Leave a Reply

