Banana Bread

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Banana bread, the sweet delicious bread that effectively uses up overripe bananas that nobody wants to eat. I can’t remember a time in my life when banana bread didn’t exist. Even after I found out I had a food allergy, I still found a way to enjoy it.

img_5893

The recipe that I’ve modified is an old family favorite. My mom has been using this recipe since I can remember and when my dad and I developed food allergies we just modified it to fit our needs. This cookbook is so old and honestly this is the only recipe we use out of it but it makes the best banana bread. I laugh because it falls open to this page every time and you can tell its been well used by all the stains…I think those came from when I was learning to bake.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I eat vegan while I am away at college, but I have never had much luck with making good gluten free and vegan baked goods. And I was raised vegetarian and so eating eggs is something that I keep coming back to once in awhile. Otherwise I would say that I am mostly vegan. I think the eggs are really the key to making good gluten free and dairy free banana bread. Along with a good gluten free flour…

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Finding good gluten free flour mixes can be hard. I used to mix my own for a long time and then Bob’s of Red Mill came out with a gluten free flour mix that worked great and we never went back. My mom has always bought things that we use a lot of in bulk, I like to think she was secretly transitioning to zero waste her whole life without even realizing it. By buying this flour in bulk we bypass the plastic packaging that smaller sizes come in and we don’t have to settle for a subpar gluten free flour. And we get to support a local business, since Bob’s of Red Mill is only a few hours away from us.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

A note on coconut oil: coconut oil has a higher fat content than butter so you don’t need as much as it calls for in the original recipe. Otherwise you are going to swimming in fat. Also if you use unrefined coconut oil it will give it a slightly coconuty taste, which I like in my baked goods. Otherwise you could use olive oil or refined coconut oil.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

There is no need to use a standing mixer for this recipe. Even if your coconut oil isn’t very soft, you can still beat it all by hand. I find that it gives me a good arm workout. It makes me feel less guilty when I eat several slices of this later.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

Nuts are totally optional, but I have always thought that chopped walnuts just send it over the top. Even if you are not that big of a fan of nuts, try it at least once. You could also add mini dairy free chocolate chips, but I’ve never tried that since I am not a fan of chocolate and bananas together.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Make sure you grease your pan well, it will make your life a whole lot easier when you try to get it out.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Banana Bread

  • 3/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • scant 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas (mashed)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cup 1 to 1 baking mix (or other gf flour)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350ºF and grease a baking a 9×5 loaf pan with coconut oil. Cream coconut oil and sugar together, add eggs and mashed bananas and mix well. In a separate bowl combine the flour, soda, and salt. Mix this into the wet ingredients and mix until combined. (Don’t over mix because it can make the bread gummy) Add in the walnuts and then spread into a pan and bake for 1hr to 1hr 15min. (Bake until a toothpick or knife comes out clean.)

 

One thought on “Banana Bread

  1. Gertie May 15, 2017 / 2:52 pm

    Very good site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any reticmendamoons, please let me know. Bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

